Good Habits for Breakfast

Good evening!

Within this blog post I thought I would discuss my favourite breakfasts, as I think the first meal of the day is where it’s easiest to fall into bad habits. Firstly, I definitely am under the opinion that breakfast is the most important meal of the day! It should never be underestimated. I like to vary my breakfasts during the week as I can get bored with eating the same thing every day (I think many of us do)! It definitely helps that I love to cook, however I did used to be someone who would just grab the easy option (which was usually cereal). I felt awful eating cereals every day because I felt so bloated and groggy due to the high sugar content. However, when I started to vary my daily routine, I felt so much better and lighter! I also noticed a drastic change in my body, skin and weight. If you know me, you know I love looking after my skin and my skin care so it was definitely surprising to me when I saw how much your daily diet can change your personal appearance. When you eat and drink well, I think you glow but that is just my opinion! Anyway, back onto my breakfasts…

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Weekday Breakfast

This is a breakfast that I have 2-3 days during the week (usually on my training days). As soon as I wake up, I drink a cup of water and make two scrambled eggs in coconut oil. I then prep my vanilla protein oats (30g oats, 150ml coconut milk and around 100ml water topped with a little Manuka honey, desiccated coconut and blueberries), and I take them to work to eat around 10:30am. I usually start to get peckish around 10am, so this breakfast suits me at work perfectly. I also love this breakfast because it’s easy and quick, so there are no excuses! Scrambled eggs take a matter of minutes and I sometimes even prep my oats the night before so I can grab and go in the morning as I do leave it last minute sometimes.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

High Fat Breakfast

So, this is one of my absolute favourites as it’s great as a breakfast and a light lunch/or dinner! This dish consists of smoked salmon with a pea, onion and dill omelette. I got this idea from Madeline Shaw and I think it’s just gorgeous. I have this breakfast usually at the weekend, as I like to enjoy and take my time to make it. This dish is high in fats and the ingredients are always in my kitchen, so there is never a problem if I want it at last minute! I can honestly say that this dish makes me feel so light and fresh, so I would recommend it to anyone.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

My Ultimate Favourite

So, we have finally come to my favourite breakfast! This plate has everything that I love on it… fats, protein and carbs! The ingredients for this dish consist of sourdough bread, smoked salmon, tomatoes and scrambled eggs topped with pumpkin seeds and chives. I usually have this twice a week and on my training days. It is great as a post workout meal as it has everything my body needs. I like to use sourdough bread as it has a lower glycemic index and is known not to spike your blood sugar as dramatically as other bread types. As you have probably noticed, I also like to have smoked salmon in the mornings as it is high in omega fatty acids which works wonders for my skin as well as my body! I would definitely recommend this breakfast!

 

 

Again, thank you for reading and if you have any comments, questions or suggestions, please let me know!

LAClarkex

instagram.com/laclarkex                twitter.com/laclarkex

Leave a Reply

