Inside Out

Hello!

So on this blog post, I thought I would discuss how food and drink impacts your skin as I used to have awful skin. I never thought that food and drink can have such an impact on your appearance, but it does! I will also discuss ‘restrictive diets’ and having a healthy relationship with food.

IMG_2920.JPG

On the left hand side (as you can see by my arm), I had awful skin, an unhealthy diet and not a very nice complexion. I had eczema and whatever creams I brought, it did not seem to help it whatsoever. I was really frustrated because I wanted my eczema to get better, but I was too stubborn to look at what I was putting inside of my body.

On the right hand side however is me today. I eat very well and I drink around 3-4 liters of water a day. I also found a skincare which works well for me! I started to use Elemis products around 3 years ago, and I have not looked back. Yes, it maybe expensive, but it lasts a long time if you use the correct quantities and you cannot beat the quality of the products. So, since using Elemis and eating/drinking well, my eczema is pretty much none-existent which is a drastic change from where I began.

I think I should however explain what I mean by eating and drinking “well” as I don’t like the term “clean eating”. I eat a lot of vegetables, fish, meat, Greek yoghurt, seeds and so forth! I have one cheat meal a week, or I spread this out by having three cheat snacks a week. This varies week to week depending on what I am doing! If I am aware that I am going for several meals, I will act accordingly and spread out my little cheats. For example, I would share my dessert with someone, I will pick healthy options and I will miss out on having a “starter, main, dessert”. I am a lady who goes out for meals quite often if I am honest, so having cheat snacks works for me.

I think it is important however to remember to still live… I never want to be at a restaurant thinking of all the things I cannot have. I am a woman who loves food, and I mean all food! So if you see your diet as restrictive, I think you should go back to the drawing board and find a way of eating that you can enjoy and also stay healthy. I never think “I cannot have that” or “I really wish I could eat that”… if I want it, I’ll have it, but in the correct quantities. I like to be quite strict on myself during the week, and then on the weekend, I relax and I enjoy a few treats! This doesn’t mean I binge, but if I go out for a meal, I will have what I like. However, I think when you do find a healthy lifestyle that works for you, you want to stick to it simply for how your body feels.

I think it is also important to remember that ‘healthy’ looks different on everyone, and you need to find your ‘healthy’ and stick to it. What someone else does, won’t work for you and vice versa. I think it’s wise to experiment with food and exercise as well as remember you need to be mentally healthy with a good relationship with food. I used to have an awful relationship with food and I was physically unhealthy so it definitely is achievable!

When you eat well (as well as enjoy what you eat!), drink well and feel well… I think you naturally glow! Every woman should have that confidence where she feels the sh*t! I am all about that confidence and, in my opinion, what you put inside of your body will impact that way of thinking. So, occasionally, if that cookie will make you smile, do it (I do!)! There’s no harm in enjoying your treats… just do not let it turn into a binge, or a daily occurrence!

Thank you for reading and if you have any comments, suggestions or questions, please do not hesitate to contact me! xx

laclarkex

instagram.com/laclarkex                              twitter.co.uk/laclarekx

2 thoughts on “Inside Out

Leave a Reply

